PDP Ticket: Atiku, Saraki, Tambuwal, Obi, 13 Others For Screening Friday


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) will on Friday begin the screening of the 17 aspirants jostling for the party’s presidential ticket for the 2023 election.

Former Senate President Chief David Mark is the chairman of a nine-member committee that will screen the aspirants.

Slated for screening are former Vice- President Atiku Abubakar, ex-Senate President Bukola Saraki, former Anambra State Governor Mr. Peter Obi and Sokoto State Governor Aminu Tambuwal.

Also to be screened are former Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) Pius Anyim, Bauchi State Governor Bala Mohammed, Rivers State Governor Nyesom Wike and Akwa Ibom State Governor Udom Emmanuel.

Others are renowned industrialist Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa, a former bank chief, Mohammed Hayatu-Deen, a United States-based medical doctor, Nwachukwu Anakwenze and Ovation Magazine publisher Dele Momodu.

Former Ekiti State Governor Ayo Fayose, Cosmos Ndukwe, Mr. Charles Ugwu, Chikwendu Kalu and Tariele Diana Oliver are also on the list.


A schedule of activities released by the National Organising Secretary of the PDP, Umar Bature, indicated that the screening exercise would hold at Legacy House, Abuja, the party’s presidential campaign headquarters.

Also listed for screening in Abuja are all aspirants for the governorship, state assemblies and National Assembly elections in all the seven states in the Northwest.

The states include Sokoto, Kano, Kaduna, Katsina, Jigawa, Kebbi and Zamfara. The exercise is scheduled to hold on Wednesday and Thursday.

Screening for same categories of elections in the remaining states, except Anambra, will however take place at the party’s zonal secretariats same dates.

Other members of the screening committee are Chief Celestine Omehia, Chief Mike Ahamba, SAN, Dr. Olusegun Mimiko, Edward Ashiekaa, SAN, and Mrs. Hilda Makonto.

Also listed as members are Dr. Akiku Indabawa, Hajiya Hassana Dikko, Dr. Esther Uduehi, while Ms. Chinedu Nwachukwu will serve as administrative secretary to the committee.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here